Daily Archives: 20 March 2020

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards short list announced

For a lot of us social distancing means we need book recommendations. So shortlists for literary awards may be of more practical use than usual. The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards short list has been announced, and it’s an enticing catalogue of possibilities. Here it is in full without the need to click back and forth as on the State Library of NSW website (though you can look at the compete list there, with pictures of the covers, and judges’ comments, at this link). I’ve read precious few of the books (none of the Christina Stead) and seen fewer of the scripts. I’ve added links to my blog posts

Fiction (Christina Stead Award)

  • Exploded View, Carrie Tiffany (Text Publishing)
  • The Electric Hotel, Dominic Smith (Allen & Unwin)
  • Wolfe Island, Lucy Treloar (Picador Australia)
  • The Palace of Angels, Mohammad Massoud Morsi (Wild Dingo Press)
  • The Yield, Tara June Winch (Penguin Random House)
  • The White Girl, Tony Birch (University of Queensland Press)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing

  • Little Stones, Elizabeth Kuiper (University of Queensland Press)
  • An-Tan-Tiri Mogodan, Florina Enache (Adelaide Books)
  • Lucky Ticket, Joey Bui (Text Publishing)
  • Dolores, Lauren Aimee Curtis (Hachette Australia)
  • Real Differences, SL LIM (Transit Lounge)
  • The House of Youssef, Yumna Kassab (Giramondo Publishing)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction

  • Dr Space Junk vs The Universe, Alice Gorman (NewSouth Publishing)
  • The World Was Whole, Fiona Wright (Giramondo Publishing)
  • The Seventies, Michelle Arrow (NewSouth Publishing)
  • Tiberius With a Telephone, Patrick Mullins (Scribe Publications)
  • Australianama, Samia Khatun (University of Queensland Press)
  • The Enchantment of the Long-haired Rat, Tim Bonyhady (Text Publishing)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry

  • An Open Book, David Malouf (University of Queensland Press)
  • apparently, Joanne Burns (Giramondo Publishing)
  • Empirical, Lisa Gorton (Giramondo Publishing)
  • Archival-Poetics, Natalie Harkin (Vagabond Press)
  • Enfolded in the Wings of a Great Darkness, Peter Boyle (Vagabond Press)
  • After the Demolition, Zenobia Frost (Cordite Publishing, Inc.)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature

  • Wilam. A Birrarung Story, Aunty Joy Murphy, Andrew Kelly, Lisa Kennedy (Black Dog Books)
  • Young Dark Emu, Bruce Pascoe (Magabala Books)
  • One Tree, Christopher Cheng and Bruce Whatley (Penguin Random House)
  • Ella and the Ocean, Lian Tanner, Jonathan Bentley (Allen & Unwin)
  • Catch a Falling Star, Meg McKinlay (Walker Books)
  • Detention, Tristan Bancks (Penguin Random House)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature

  • How It Feels to Float, Helena Fox (Pan Macmillan Australia)
  • Lenny’s Book of Everything, Karen Foxlee (Allen & Unwin)
  • It Sounded Better in My Head, Nina Kenwood (Text Publishing)
  • The Little Wave, Pip Harry (University of Queensland Press)
  • Impossible Music, Sean Williams (Allen & Unwin)
  • This Is How We Change the Ending, Vikki Wakefield (Text Publishing)

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting

  • The Mares, Kate Mulvany (Tasmanian Theatre Company)
  • City of Gold, Meyne Wyatt (Queensland Theatre)
  • The Feather in the Web, Nick Coyle (Griffin Theatre Company)
  • Counting and Cracking, S Shakthidharan and Eamon Flack (Belvoir Street Theatre)
  • THEM, Samah Sabawi (La Mama Courthouse)
  • Banging Denmark, Van Badham (Sydney Theatre Company)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting

  • The Cry, Episode 2, Jacquelin Perske (Synchronicity Films)
  • Missing, Kylie Boltin (SBS)
  • H is for Happiness, Lisa Hoppe (Happiness Films Productions)
  • Buoyancy, Rodd Rathjen (Causeway Films)
  • The Ropes, Episode 1, Tamara Asmar (Lingo Pictures)

Multicultural NSW Award

  • Growing Up African in Australia, edited by Maxine Beneba-Clarke (Black Inc.)
  • Room for a Stranger, Melanie Cheng (Text Publishing)
  • The Lost Arabs, Omar Sakr (University of Queensland Press)
  • The Pillars, Peter Polites (Hachette Australia)
  • White Tears/Brown Scars, Ruby Hamad (Melbourne University Press)
  • Australianama, Samia Khatun (University of Queensland Press)

Indigenous Writers’ Prize

  • Too Much Lip, Melissa Lucashenko (University of Queensland Press)
  • Alfred’s War, Rachel Bin Salleh and Samantha Fry (Magabala Books)
  • The White Girl, Tony Birch (University of Queensland Press)

And there are the People’s Choice Award – we can vote for anything on the Christina Stead short list – and the Book of the Year, which the judges choose from books shortlisted in any category.